Looking for Victims of the Canvey Island Flood of 1953

Looking for Canvey people or places? Ask here.

Moderators: CanveyAdministrator, Dave Bullock

Looking for Victims of the Canvey Island Flood of 1953

Postby cguil_uk » Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:18 am

Hi
I am an amateur genealogist.

Does anyone know anything about William White, and his wife Edith, who perished in the Canvey Island (England) Floods of 1953 please?

Another Victim, mentioned on the memorial plaque - Marie White - may, or may not, be a relative. Can anyone confirm please?

Edith White (née Griffith) was my 1st cousin twice removed. I would be interested to know if they had any family.
Edith was born abt. 1892 and married William White Sept 1915 in Enfield, Middx., England. She would have been 61 when she died.

Thanks in anticipation
cguil_uk
New Contributor

Re: Looking for Victims of the Canvey Island Flood of 1953

Postby wildmeadows » Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:49 pm

I was in the Canvey Island floods and my father Sidney Alterman had a general store. Several of our customers perished in the floods and, as my sister lived on the island a long time after I did, I will ask her if she remembers the names that you mentioned.

Shirley Orchard
wildmeadows
New Contributor

Postby cguil_uk » Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:10 am

wildmeadows wrote:I was in the Canvey Island floods and my father Sidney Alterman had a general store. Several of our customers perished in the floods and, as my sister lived on the island a long time after I did, I will ask her if she remembers the names that you mentioned.

Shirley Orchard

Thanks Shirley

in 1953 Edith White (age 60) and William (age 62) lived in 'The Croft', Newlands Road

Marie White (age 65) the widow of George White (an army sergeant), lived in 10 Craven Avenue - possibly William's sister-in-law??
cguil_uk
New Contributor

Postby janice hankey » Sun Nov 09, 2008 7:43 pm